• Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • SoundCloud - Black Circle

written & devised by Rhiannon Drake

ft. the poetry of Byron & Shelley and music by Beethoven & Schubert

  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

The Year Without A Summer

a new musical


A volcanic eruption has caused widespread climatological disaster.

Amidst the devastation, a gang of England's greatest writers travel abroad to create their masterpieces... but what about the wives and lovers they leave behind?

A a new musical, following the lives of  several much-loved 19th century writers & characters.

Contemporary themes & sounds collide with the world of the Romantics. 

A blend of  original musical theatre songs (composed by Rhiannon Drake),  contemporary, loop-based tunes incorporating well-known 1816 compositions by Beethoven & Schubert.

Recorded in 2017 at

Transformer Studios, London.

Composed & devised by

Rhiannon Drake.

Produced by  Andrea Adriano.

Performers listed below.

the plot

the plot

the concept

the music

concept album

Concept Album Concert: February 2018, Above The Arts Theatre

1-hour Production as one half of 'Herstoric': April 2019, The Drayton Arms Theatre

More info and reviews here


To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
In It For The Chase (Rhiannon Drake)
Waking Dream (Katie Jones)
Hymn to Intellectual Beauty (Tom Grant & Ensemble)
Loving You (Kathryn Brewer, Aemilia Owen & Rhiannon Drake)
Young Brilliant and Handsome (Rebecca Thorn & Ensemble)
Fare Thee Well (Ensemble)
Mad & Bad & Dangerous To Know (Eddy Smith & Ensemble)
So We'll Go No More A Roving (Ensemble)
What a Beautiful Sunset (Ensemble)
Goldner Schein (Terry Burns, Rebecca Thorn, Callum Melville & Ensemble)

invest in the show here | get in contact and find out more here | listen on soundcloud here